عمليات القنوات الدمعية وتجميل الجفون

تدلِّي الجفن

     تدلِّي ونزول الجفون قد يؤدي لانحدار مجال الرؤية بالعين عندما يغطي الجفن محور النظر. وفي هذا الجانب يولد بعض الأطفال بتدلٍّ في الجفن، مقارنة بالبالغين الذين يعود السبب في إصابتهم بذلك لكبر السن، أو الخضوع لعمليات سابقة والاستخدام المزمن للعدسات اللاصقة. وتوجد طرق متعددة لعلاج مرض تدلِّي الجفون، ويتوقف اختيار نوع العلاج بناءً على نوع التَّدَلِّي، ودرجته وشدته. والتعافي من جراحة تدلِّي الجفون عادة ما يكون سريعاً ويعود المصاب به إلى الوضع الطبيعي ومزاولة العمل في غضون أيام.

القنوات الدَّمْعِية

     وظيفة عمليات القنوات الدمعية تتمثل في صرْف الدموع من سطح العين. ومن الممكن أن تتضمن العملية استكشاف وترميم أي جزء من القناة الدمعية اعتماداً على موقع انسداد أو ضِيْق القناة الدمعية. ويحدَّد موقع الانسداد في الزيارة الاستشارية الأولى، ويقرَّر نوع العملية في الوقت نفسه. ونوع العلاج يتراوح بين العلاج بقطرات العين، أو بتَدَخُّل وإجراء بسيط يُجرَى في العيادة، أو بجراحة بغرفة العمليات، أيها أجدى حسبما يرى الطبيب المعالج.

شتر الجفون (داخلي أو خارجي)

     يجب أن يكون الجفن في وضعه الطبيعي للتأكد من الحماية الطبيعية للعين، ومن حيث إنتاج وصرْف الدموع بصورة لازمة، وتمَكُّن الجفون من الغلْق تماماً مع كل غمضة. وشتر الجفون من أي نوع قد يكون مزعجاً للمريض وينتج عن ذلك: ألم في العين، التدميع، وصديد مزمن. والشَّتْر الداخلي هو الحالة عندما يكون الجفن منحنياً لجهة العين، بينما الشَّتْر الخارجي هو الحالة عندما يكون الجفن السفلي منحنياً لخارج العين. ويمكن حل مشكلة أي نوع من الشَّتْر بالتدخل الجراحي لإعادة الجفن إلى وضْعه الطبيعي.

ترميم الجفون (بعد الأورام و الإصابات)

     ترميم الجفون بالجراحة عادة ما يكون نتيجة لإصابة نتيجة أية ضربة في العين ناتجة عن خلل في التشريح الطبيعي للجفون أو نتيجة لاستئصال ورم بالجفن. وموقع الخلل بالجفن هو سبب اختيار نوع العملية الجراحية والترميم الذي قد يحتاج لرقعة جلدية.

أورام الجفون

     هناك عدة أنواع من أورام الجفون، البعض منها من الممكن مراقبته بأمان،بينما البعض الآخر يفرض استئصاله وفحص عيِّنة منه بمختبر علم الأمراض. وبناءً على الشكل الخارجي وتاريخ الوَرَم في جلسة الاستشارة يمكن اتخاذ القرار بالمتابعة، وأخْذ عيِّنة أو استئصال الوَرَم بالكامل. ومن أمثلة الأورام الأكثر انتشاراً: انتفاخ الغدة الدهنية، أكياس الجفون، الزائدة الجلدية والشامات.

ارتخاء الجفون

     انقباض وشكل الجفن من الممكن أنْ يتغيَّر و يترَهَّل مع الوقت. وجراحة الجفون هي الحل لهذه المشكلة لتعطي العين شكلاً نضِراً وحيوياً وأكثر شباباً، وذلك عن طريق: إزالة جزء من الجلد المُتَرَهِّل، الدهون الزائدة، العضلات المرتخية من الجفون العلوية والسفلية. وعندما يكون الارتخاء في الجفن العلوي من الممكن أنْ يعطي انطباعاً بالتعب والإرهاق، وفي بعض الأحيان يؤدي إلى تدَنٍّ في الطرف العلوي من المجال البصري. ونتيجة لذلك تعتبر بعض حالات ارتخاء الجفون علاجية وفي أحيان أخرى تكون تجميلية. وتعديل ارتخاء الجفن السفلي دائماً ما تكون تجميلية لتعديل الشكل الخارجي للعين والتخلص من الجلد المُتَرَهِّل والدهون الزائدة.

Oculoplastic Surgeries

          Reconstructive & Functional Oculoplasty 

Ptosis (droopy eyelids) 
Ptosis is the medical term for droopy eyelids.  Drooping of the upper eyelid(s) can cause a reduction in the field of vision when the eyelid obstructs the visual axis. Children can be born with ptosis, while adults develop ptosis as a result of aging, prior surgery, or long term contact lens use. There are various methods of correcting ptosis depending on the type, degree and severity of ptosis. Recovery from ptosis surgery is usually quite rapid, and patients find themselves returning back to work within a few days.

Dacryocystorhinostomy (DCR)
Lacrimal surgery addresses the tear ducts system that normally drains tears from the eye surface. This may include the exploration and reconstruction of any portion of the system depending upon the location of the closure (stenosis) or obstruction. The location will be determined at the initial consultation and the treatment plan designed at that time. Treatment can be as simple as using eye drops, a minor procedure in the clinic, or may require surgery in the operating room.

Eyelid Malposition (eyelids “turn in or out”)
The eyelids need to be in a normal position to ensure eye protection, for good tear production and drainage and to allow the eyelids to close properly with each blink. When the lids are malpositioned, they can be very irritating to the eye and result in tearing, pain, and chronic discharge. Entropion is a condition in which the eyelid is "turned in" toward the eye. Ectropion is a condition where the lower eyelid is “turned out” away from the eye. Both can be repaired with surgical procedures designed to return the eyelid to its natural position

Eyelid Reconstruction (after cancer or trauma) 
Eyelid reconstruction is often required following trauma or tumour excision. Depending on the degree and location, reconstruction can be performed using a variety of tissue flaps and grafts.

Eyelid Lesions 
There are many types of eyelid lesions, some can be observed safely while others should be biopsied or completely excised. Based on the appearance in consultation and your particular medical history, a decision can be made whether to observe biopsy or remove the lesion.  Some of the most common benign eyelid lesions are chalazion (stye), cysts, skin tags, and nevi (moles).

Blepharoplasty – Upper & Lower Eyelids  
The tone and shape of eyelids can loosen and sag with time. Surgical repair of this condition can give the eyes a more youthful look by removing excess skin, bulging fat, and lax muscle from the upper or lower eyelids. In the upper eyelids, excess skin can result in a tired appearance or can result in difficulty seeing in the top segment of your visual field. As a result, some forms of blepharoplasty surgery are considered cosmetic eyelid surgery while in some other cases it is medically necessary to allow the patient to see well. Lower eyelid blepharoplasty is almost always a cosmetic procedure to improve the shape, contour and appearance of loose skin, bulging fat, and irregular shape.